So, second year is all wrapped up and pleased to I passed!! I thought Roman World was going to be a risky are but I made it through, praise be to the high heavens. Now I have to look onwards to 3rd year and honours courses – in Scotland 1st & 2nd year don’t count towards your final degree but 3rd & 4th year do.

In the true style of Archaeological departments, information about available courses was sparse and the when and where of signing up for them was clouded with vague mystery. Eventually however, we were told a date when the forms would open and on that day I woke at the god damn crack of dawn regardless of my 3 hour sleep. I was gunna beat all those other wannabes and get first dibs (I have no idea if courses are done first come first served but in the Game of Courses you win or you die). A few minutes and a couple of clicks later and I had registered for…. *drum roll plz*

  • Archaeology in Practice
  • Archaeology of Architecture
  • Here Comes the War: Conflict Archaeology and the Human Past
  • Theoretical Archaeology
  • Archaeological Illustration
  • Byzantine Archaeology: The Archaeology of the Byzantine Empire

The first three are my semester 1 options and the last three my semester 2 options.

Archaeology in Practice covers aspects of conservation, museum studies and presenting archaeological finds to the public. In addition, it explores the roles and activities of the professional archaeologist.
Archaeology of Architecture encompasses the construction of buildings from many time periods including medieval and Victorian. It also works around both complete structures as well as lesser preserved remains and the use of 3D scanning to recreate sites digitally.
‘Here Comes the War’ touches on the idea of conflict from prehistory right through to post World War and how conflict/war can be preserved and spotted within the archaeological record.
Theoretical Archaeology explores the changing nature of archaeology as a discipline throughout its evolution.
Archaeological Illustrations focuses on all forms of visual representation of archaeological finds through drawing, photography and more.
Byzantine Archaeology looks at the area and time between the Islamic world and the early medieval kingdoms of Europe (one of the areas I always run to whenever I visit the British Museum).

It goes without saying I’m excited and ready for these new challenges.

